Cambodia eSIM guides: how to pick your Cambodian eSIM
Choose a Cambodia eSIM by the places you will visit, the data you expect to use and the plan validity. Metfone has the widest provincial reach, while Smart and Cellcard serve the main cities. The comparisons below bring together our four Cambodia guides, including the sizes and use cases where another provider is a better fit.
- Networks Travelsim Asia includes Metfone and Cellcard on one eSIM
- Cities Phnom Penh and Siem Reap work on any carrier, 5G included
- Sizes Cheapest 1 GB / 7d and 3, 5, 10 GB / 30d. Airalo wins from 20 GB up
- Setup Emailed within minutes. No app, no account, no passport scan
Which network sits behind your Cambodia eSIM?
Airalo uses Smart. Nomad, Holafly and Ubigi use Metfone, while Saily does not disclose its Cambodian network. Travelsim Asia includes Metfone and Cellcard. Metfone, owned by Viettel, has the widest provincial reach. Smart serves the cities, and Cellcard won the download-speed award in the Opensignal report linked below. Compare the included networks with your route, particularly outside Phnom Penh and Siem Reap.
| Provider | Cambodian network | Fallback if it fades |
|---|---|---|
| Travelsim Asia | Metfone and Cellcard | Yes, the other one |
| Airalo | Smart | None |
| Holafly | Metfone | None |
| Nomad | Metfone | None |
| Ubigi | Metfone | None |
| Saily | Not disclosed | Unknown |
A second included network lets the phone connect through either carrier where coverage is available; it does not guarantee a signal everywhere. All three carriers cover Phnom Penh, Siem Reap and the main Angkor circuit, where price, allowance and validity may matter more to your choice.
Sources:Opensignal Cambodia report, nPerf Cambodia signal map
Does the network matter where you are going?
Phnom Penh and Siem Reap have solid 4G coverage on all three carriers, with 5G in the main centres. Network choice matters more along provincial roads and the coast, where Metfone has the broadest reach. On the islands, service can be patchy regardless of the provider.
| Route | Does the carrier matter | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Phnom Penh, Siem Reap | Barely | Buy on price |
| Main Angkor circuit | Barely, the far loops thin out | Save the offline map before you set off |
| Kampot, Kep, Battambang | In town no, on the road yes | A Metfone plan, or two networks |
| Provincial roads and border districts | Yes | Metfone reach is what you are paying for |
| Koh Rong, Koh Rong Sanloem | Patchy for everyone | Download in Sihanoukville, expect to be offline |
Reports differ on which carrier works best on Koh Rong, and both mobile service and shared Wi-Fi can be patchy. Download maps, tickets and other essentials in Sihanoukville before heading to the islands.
What does a Cambodia eSIM cost?
Fixed-data plans in this comparison range from $3.99 for 1 GB to $49 for 50 GB. Travelsim Asia has the lowest prices at 1, 3, 5 and 10 GB on the terms shown below: $12.49 for a typical week of use or $19.99 for a fortnight. Airalo has the lowest 20 GB price and the only 50 GB plan listed here; Nomad offers the only 15 GB option. Choose the size and validity that match your trip.
| Data | Travelsim Asia | Cheapest rival, same validity | Who |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | $3.99 / 7d | $5.00 / 7d | Ubigi |
| 3 GB | $8.49 / 30d | $10.99 / 30d | Saily |
| 5 GB | $12.49 / 30d | $13.00 / 30d | Airalo |
| 10 GB | $19.99 / 30d | $20.00 / 30d | Ubigi |
| 15 GB | Not sold | $28.00 / 30d | Nomad |
| 20 GB | $32.99 / 30d | $32.00 / 30d | Airalo |
| 50 GB | Not sold | $49.00 / 30d | Airalo |
Compare validity as well as the allowance. Airalo's $4.00 1 GB and $8.50 3 GB plans last three days, while its $19.50 10 GB plan lasts seven. Those shorter plans can suit a stopover or a week-long trip. Ubigi's 25 GB at $39.00 is another option between 20 and 50 GB if Metfone suits your route.
How much data will you use in Cambodia?
About 5 GB for a week that takes in Angkor, and 10 GB for a fortnight that mixes the cities with the coast or the provinces. A short city stay runs on 1 to 3 GB. City Wi-Fi in Cambodia is decent enough to lean on in the evenings, so the budget goes on the days you are moving between towns or out at the temples.
| Trip | A day's use | Plan |
|---|---|---|
| Short city stay, light use | 200 to 400 MB | 1 to 3 GB |
| One week, cities plus Angkor | 400 to 700 MB | 5 GB |
| Two weeks, cities, coast and provinces | 500 MB to 1 GB | 10 GB |
| Long stay, remote work or hotspot | 1.5 GB and up | 20 GB |
Those numbers assume you are on guesthouse Wi-Fi in the evenings, which in the cities is usually fine. If you share your data with a travel partner over a hotspot, or you upload video every day, take the next plan up.
Which apps will you use most, and how much data do they use?
Telegram, a ride app and Google Maps, and none of the three uses much. Telegram is where guesthouses and drivers reply, PassApp or Grab gets you a tuk-tuk at a fixed price, and Maps does the navigating between towns. Together they come to a few hundred megabytes a day. The apps that drain a plan are the ones you bring from home, Instagram and video calls, and those cost the same in Cambodia as anywhere else.
| App | What it does in Cambodia | Data it uses |
|---|---|---|
| Telegram | Bookings, drivers and tour desks reply here | 20 to 100 MB a day, more with voice notes and photos |
| PassApp or Grab | Tuk-tuks and cars at a fixed price, no haggling | 5 to 10 MB a ride |
| Google Maps | Roads between towns and the Angkor circuit | 5 to 20 MB an hour live. Offline areas cover driving directions only |
| QR payments | Paying at cafes and shops in the cities | Almost nothing, but the till needs you online |
| Google Translate | Khmer menus and signs in camera mode | 20 to 30 MB an hour, close to zero with the Khmer pack downloaded |
| Same as at home | 100 to 150 MB an hour | |
| Video calls home | Same as at home | 300 to 500 MB an hour |
| Streaming at phone quality | Same as at home | 250 to 700 MB an hour |
A day of Telegram, rides and maps comes to 100 to 300 MB. An hour of Instagram and a call home adds half a gigabyte or more on top, and that is the gap between the 5 GB plan and the 10 GB one. Download the Khmer pack for Translate and the Angkor area in Maps before you fly, since both work with the eSIM off.
Is an unlimited Cambodia eSIM worth it?
Unlimited can suit daily laptop tethering or heavy streaming on mobile data. A week starts at $27.00; for lighter use, our $19.99 10 GB fixed plan can cover two weeks. Travelsim Asia does not sell unlimited. Holafly uses Metfone and offers unlimited without a daily throttle, while Airalo and Ubigi apply daily fair-use limits. Compare both the trip length and high-speed allowance before choosing.
| Duration | Cheapest unlimited | Price | Daily throttle |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 days | Airalo or Holafly | $12.50 | Airalo yes, Holafly no |
| 5 days | Airalo or Holafly | $20.50 | Airalo yes, Holafly no |
| 7 days | Airalo | $27.00 | Yes, fair-use policy |
| 10 days | Airalo | $35.00 | Yes, fair-use policy |
| 15 days | Airalo | $49.00 | Yes, fair-use policy |
| 30 days | Ubigi | $68.00 | Yes, fair-use policy |
The lowest unlimited price depends on duration, as the table shows. Check the daily high-speed allowance on Airalo and Ubigi, and the hotspot terms for any plan you intend to share.
Do I need an app, an account or my passport?
Travelsim Asia requires no app, account or passport scan. The eSIM arrives by email as a QR code and installation link, and top-ups are available through a web portal. Airalo, Nomad, Saily and Ubigi use apps and accounts for setup or management. Buying a local SIM at a Cambodian counter requires passport registration. That is a practical alternative if you need a local Cambodian number.
Install on Wi-Fi before travelling. On arrival, enable the Cambodia eSIM, select it for mobile data and turn on data roaming for that line. This lets the prepaid eSIM connect to Metfone or Cellcard without an extra roaming charge on that eSIM.
Cambodia plans from $3.99 on Metfone and Cellcard. Choose your data allowance and install from the email before travelling.
View Cambodia plansPrices checked 16 September 2026. Networks checked 17 September 2026.