Last updated: September 30, 2026
For a week in Malaysia using Grab, maps, WhatsApp and occasional photo uploads, we recommend Travelsim Asia's 5 GB eSIM at $7.99 for 30 days. It includes Maxis and CelcomDigi, installs from email without an app or account, and lets you add data through a web portal. For a lighter city break, choose 3 GB at $4.99 for 15 days. If you need 10 GB, Ubigi is cheaper at $12 for 30 days, compared with our $14.99.
We sell the Travelsim Asia plans in this guide. Our picks favour simple setup and fixed-data value, while naming the sizes where another provider is the better buy. The allowance you need depends on your trip: a few days in Kuala Lumpur, a week split between Penang and Langkawi, and a Sabah road trip call for different planning.
Which Malaysia eSIM should you choose?
- Light city break: Travelsim Asia 3 GB, $4.99 / 15 days. A starting point for maps, rides and messaging with hotel Wi-Fi.
- A week with outings and photo sharing: Travelsim Asia 5 GB, $7.99 / 30 days.
- Lowest 10 GB / 30-day price: Ubigi, $12, on Maxis and YTL.
- More data: Travelsim Asia 20 GB, $21.49 / 30 days. Compare Ubigi's 25 GB at $22 if five extra gigabytes are worth another $0.51 to you.
- Malaysia, Thailand and Singapore: choose a regional plan that includes all three countries.
Prices in USD. Competitor comparison dated 26 September 2026. Trip allowances are planning suggestions, not measured Malaysian usage.
View Malaysia eSIM plans, or use the comparison below to choose another provider.
Malaysia eSIM providers compared
These are the 30-day fixed plans at two useful sizes. A cheaper seven-day offer belongs in a separate comparison if your trip lasts longer than a week.
| Provider | Listed networks | 5 GB / 30 days | 10 GB / 30 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Travelsim Asia | Maxis + CelcomDigi | $7.99 | $14.99 |
| Airalo | Maxis | $12.00 | $20.00 |
| Holafly | Celcom / Digi | No fixed plan | No fixed plan |
| Nomad | Maxis / Digi | $11.00 | $16.00 |
| Saily | Not disclosed in comparison | $12.99 | $21.99 |
| Ubigi | Maxis / YTL (Yes) | No 5 GB plan listed | $12.00 |
Competitor prices and carrier listings: 26 September 2026. Network access does not guarantee a particular speed or signal at every stop. See the full Malaysia price comparison for other sizes and durations.
Travelsim Asia has the lowest listed fixed-plan price at 1, 3, 5, 20 and 50 GB in that comparison. Validity differs at some sizes: our 3 GB lasts 15 days, while Nomad's $7 plan lasts 30. At 10 GB for 30 days, Ubigi wins on price. Buying a larger plan from us only makes sense if you will use the extra data or value our setup and top-up experience.
Choose for your Malaysia itinerary
Kuala Lumpur, Penang and a short city stay
For a light stay with Wi-Fi at your accommodation, start with 3 GB at $4.99. That plan lasts 15 days; you do not need to buy 15 days' worth of data to use it for a long weekend. Choose 5 GB if you expect to share photos throughout the day or use your phone beyond navigation and messages. Save airport directions and your hotel's address before flying so your first pickup is straightforward.
Langkawi, with or without the mainland
We would take 5 GB for a week of driving around, finding places to eat and sharing the trip. One Malaysia plan works in Langkawi, Penang and Kuala Lumpur wherever its partner networks have coverage. You do not need a separate island eSIM. Boat excursions need a different habit: save tickets and meeting points offline. Our Langkawi eSIM guide covers island trips and onward travel to Koh Lipe.
Sabah and Sarawak: plan around the actual stops
For Malaysian Borneo, we recommend a plan listing Maxis and CelcomDigi, such as ours, then checking coverage at your accommodation and along the route. A stay in Kota Kinabalu or Kuching tells you little about a remote lodge, a river trip or the road between stops. Ask your host which network works at the property and compare the Maxis coverage map with CelcomDigi's network information.
Several competitors also include Maxis, and Nomad lists Maxis/Digi. Our case for Sabah and Sarawak is the combination of two listed networks, fixed-plan prices and simple top-ups. A national network award cannot establish reception at your lodge. Download maps before long transfers, and confirm Indonesia or Brunei coverage separately if your Borneo route crosses a border.
When each provider makes sense
Travelsim Asia: our pick for a straightforward fixed-data plan
Choose us for 3 or 5 GB on a shorter trip, or 20 or 50 GB when you expect heavier use. Our 50 GB costs $37.99 for 30 days, compared with Airalo's $49. Installation comes by email, with no app or account, and top-ups go onto the same eSIM through your web portal. We do not sell unlimited data, and Ubigi undercuts our 10 GB price.
Ubigi: the price pick at 10 GB
Ubigi's 10 GB / 30-day plan costs $12. Its 25 GB / 30-day plan at $22 is also worth comparing with our 20 GB at $21.49: the larger allowance costs just $0.51 more. Ubigi lists Maxis and YTL, so choose with both the allowance and your route in mind.
Nomad: useful validity and short unlimited options
Nomad's 20 GB lasts 45 days for $25, which can suit a longer stay better than a 30-day pack. It lists Maxis/Digi. Its five-day and ten-day unlimited offers are the lowest-priced at those durations in the comparison, at $18 and $33.
Airalo: a familiar account and more duration choices
If you already use Airalo, staying with its purchase and management flow may be convenient. Its Malaysia plan lists Maxis, with fixed offers across several durations. The 30-day 5 GB and 10 GB plans cost more than the lowest-priced options above; check the duration as well as the data size when comparing.
Holafly: an unlimited plan bought by trip length
Holafly lists Celcom/Digi and sells unlimited plans, including seven days for $27.50. That can suit someone who prefers buying by duration, but it is considerably more expensive than a small fixed pack. Read the current fair-use and hotspot terms before choosing it for laptop work.
Saily: an alternative if you prefer its service
Saily has fixed and unlimited options. At 5 GB and 10 GB, its $12.99 and $21.99 prices are above the alternatives in our table. Its Malaysian carrier was not disclosed in the comparison, so confirm that detail before relying on it for a remote stop.
How much data do you actually need?
Use these as starting budgets. Wi-Fi, social video and laptop tethering will change the result more than the number of places on your itinerary.
| Trip and use | Starting allowance | When to buy more |
|---|---|---|
| Short city break with hotel Wi-Fi | 3 GB | Frequent video, uploads or hotspot use |
| One week of maps, messages and outings | 5 GB | Little Wi-Fi or regular video calls |
| Two weeks across several stops | 10 GB | Shared hotspot or substantial streaming |
| Longer stay or regular laptop tethering | 20 GB or more | Daily work calls, downloads or backups |
For two weeks, compare Ubigi's $12 / 10 GB with our $14.99 / 10 GB, both valid for 30 days. If you need more room, our 20 GB costs $21.49 and Ubigi's 25 GB costs $22. Our two-week Malaysia guide compares the validity choices; the Malaysia data guide goes further into usage.
With Travelsim Asia, you can add data to the existing eSIM through the web portal linked in your email. Turn off cellular photo backups if you want your allowance to last for everyday travel use.
Is unlimited data worth it in Malaysia?
For maps, messaging and occasional uploads, we would start with fixed data. Our 5 GB costs $7.99 for 30 days; the lowest seven-day unlimited price in the comparison is Ubigi at $19. These are different allowances, so the cheaper fixed plan is only better value if it covers your use.
If you stream regularly or tether a laptop, compare unlimited terms with a larger fixed pack. Nomad is cheapest at five and ten days; Ubigi is cheapest at seven, fifteen and thirty days in the dated comparison. Check the high-speed allowance, reduced speed and hotspot rules. The word “unlimited” alone does not answer those questions.
What about buying a SIM at KLIA?
For data on an unlocked, eSIM-compatible phone, we prefer installing before departure. With Travelsim Asia, installation comes by email and the plan starts when it first connects to a supported network. Install on Wi-Fi, then select the travel eSIM for mobile data and enable roaming on that line when you arrive. The Malaysia installation guide has the steps.
If you need a Malaysian phone number for calls or SMS, compare a local prepaid SIM instead. Our travel eSIM is data-only. You can keep your usual number in WhatsApp, but data access does not supply a Malaysian number or satisfy another service's account-verification requirements.
Which eSIM covers Malaysia and your next country?
For Malaysia, Thailand and Singapore, our three-country eSIM shares one allowance across all three. Its 5 GB / 30-day plan costs $10.99, compared with $7.99 for Malaysia alone. Pay the difference when your route uses the extra countries. The regional comparison explains when separate plans cost less.
For a wider route, our Asia 14 eSIM includes Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines and other listed destinations. It excludes Singapore and mainland China. Check every stop against the regional coverage guide; the number of destinations on the pack is less useful than whether it covers yours.
Our Malaysia recommendation
Choose Travelsim Asia 5 GB at $7.99 for a week of everyday travel use, or 3 GB at $4.99 for a lighter stay. At 10 GB, choose Ubigi if price is your deciding factor. For Sabah and Sarawak, check your actual stops against the listed networks. For border crossings, match the regional plan to every country before buying.
Dig deeper
- Best eSIM for Langkawi: island coverage, outings and the Thailand connection.
- Lowest-price Malaysia eSIMs: compare every fixed-data size.
- Travelsim Asia versus Airalo: the detailed head-to-head.
- All Malaysia eSIM guides: quick answers and the full collection.