For a Thailand trip with maps, messages and photo sharing, Travelsim Asia’s 5 GB for $7.89 or 10 GB for $9.99 are practical starting points, both valid for 30 days with no app or account required. Ubigi’s 10 GB for $9 is cheaper if seven days is enough. For 20 GB over a month, Airalo costs $18 against our $19.99. The best choice depends on your allowance and trip length.
We sell eSIMs ourselves, so we have a stake in this comparison. The tables include competitor prices, plan limits and the cases where another provider is the better fit.
Here's how to choose the right Thailand eSIM for your trip — and what to watch out for.
At a glance
- Coverage focus (AIS paired with a True Corp network): Travelsim Asia’s 1–20GB plans, Airalo, Nomad, Ubigi
- Lowest fixed-plan prices: Travelsim Asia — cheapest 1 GB and 3 GB plans, plus 5 GB and 10 GB plans with 30-day validity
- No-app setup: Travelsim Asia
- Unlimited plan transparency: Airalo, Nomad (both disclose FUP)
- Best unlimited value: Nomad — $15 / 10 days
- Long-stay / subscriptions: Ubigi, Travelsim Asia (50 GB / 180 days)
Competitor prices: 23 October 2026; other provider information: August 2026. Policies and prices can change.
The 5 things that actually matter
Based on what travelers ask us most, these are the five criteria that determine whether your Thailand prepaid eSIM works well — or causes problems.
1. Network quality in Thailand
Thailand has two mobile networks. AIS runs one. True runs the other, and it carries both the TrueMove H and dtac brands on the same towers and spectrum: the companies merged in 2023 and the networks themselves were combined in October 2025, so a dtac SIM and a TrueMove H SIM reach the same masts. Which of the two your eSIM connects to still affects coverage and speed, especially beyond Bangkok and Phuket.
Thailand network coverage
| Network | Coverage | 5G | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| AIS | Widest nationwide — cities, islands, rural | Widest nationwide 5G coverage | Travelers going beyond Bangkok |
| True (TrueMove H and dtac) | Strong in the cities, the south and the east, thinner than AIS in rural areas | Fast in urban areas, one pooled 5G network since October 2025 | Bangkok, Phuket, Krabi, Samui |
2. Throttling and Fair Usage Policies
Fixed plans give you full speed for the whole allowance. "Unlimited" plans almost always carry a fair use policy: a daily high-speed allowance, then a sharp drop, and in Thailand that threshold is usually 2 to 3 GB a day. Whether that is a problem depends entirely on how you use data, and our unlimited Thailand eSIM breakdown goes through each provider's terms and what the throttled speed actually feels like.
3. Purchase and installation friction
Buying a local prepaid SIM at the airport means following the operator’s registration requirements. With Travelsim Asia, you can arrange your data before you travel and receive your eSIM by email. Follow the installation timing for your selected plan.
The app question is smaller but still worth a look. Some providers deliver by email so you install from your phone's settings, others want an account and their app before you can activate anything. Check which one you are buying, and whether it supports tap-to-install or only a QR code, because you will want it working before you land rather than after.
4. Top-up flexibility
Thailand is the one country where the physical alternative genuinely wins on this. There is a 7-Eleven on almost every corner and topping up a local SIM there takes about a minute. That sets a high bar, and it means a provider with awkward eSIM top-up is a worse choice here than it would be in Japan or Korea.
What to check is whether you can add data to the eSIM you already installed, from a browser, without installing a second one. Some providers let you. Others make you buy and install a fresh eSIM. Most unlimited plans have no top-up at all, so once you hit the daily cap you simply wait for the reset.
5. Price per usable GB
Compare what data costs at full speed, not the headline. Holafly sells 30 days of unlimited Thailand data for $73.90. Our fixed 10 GB plan over the same 30 days is $9.99. That is about seven times the price for an allowance most travelers never get near, and Holafly's fair-use conditions may reduce speed.
The comparison cuts against us further up the range. Airalo is cheaper at 20 GB, $18.00 against our $19.99, and at 50 GB it is $27.50. If you are a heavy user staying a month, that is the better buy. Validity is worth checking too, since a 1 GB plan that expires in 3 days is poor value next to one that lasts a week for the same money.
Thailand eSIM providers compared
Here's how the major providers stack up on the criteria above. No rankings — just facts you can verify on each provider's website.
Compare providers
| Provider | Thai network(s) | Unlimited FUP | Setup / management | Top-up | 10 GB / 30d price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Travelsim Asia | 1–20GB: AIS, DTAC, TrueMove H. 50GB: True networks. | N/A — no unlimited plans | Email; no account for balance or top-ups | Web portal, except the 50GB / 10-day plan | $9.99 |
| Airalo | AIS, TrueMove H | Disclosed — daily threshold | QR or app; account for management | ✓ Via account (app or web) | $11.00 |
| Holafly | TrueMove H, dtac | Not disclosed | App optional; web access available | Add days on eligible reusable eSIMs | N/A — unlimited only |
| Nomad | AIS, True, dtac | 2 GB/day, then 1 or 2 Mbps depending on the plan | QR or app; account for management | Varies by plan | $10.00 |
| Saily | Not publicly specified | 5 GB/day high-speed cap on unlimited | App-based setup and management | ✓ Via app | $10.99 |
| Ubigi | AIS, TrueMove H | 30-day plan: 60 GB, then 2 Mbps | QR or app; account for management | ✓ Via account (app or web) | $11.00 |
Competitor prices: 23 October 2026; other provider policies: August 2026. These can change — always verify on the provider's website before purchasing. Travelsim Asia is our own product.
When each provider makes sense
Different providers suit different travelers. Here's when each one is a reasonable choice — including when a competitor might be a better fit than us.
Airalo
Good for: travelers who want a well-known brand with a large app ecosystem, and multi-country regional plans if you're visiting more than Thailand. Less ideal for: travelers who prefer a no-app, no-account setup, or who want the lowest price on small and mid-tier plans. Airalo runs AIS and TrueMove H, the same two mobile groups included in Travelsim Asia’s 1–20GB plans — but prices depend on validity: Airalo’s 5 GB / seven-day plan costs $7, less than our $7.89 / 30-day plan. Email QR installation is available.
Holafly
Good for: travelers who genuinely don't want to think about data at all and are willing to pay more for that peace of mind. Connects to TrueMove H and dtac for solid city coverage. Less ideal for: heavy users, anyone who needs hotspot sharing, or travelers who want to know exactly what they're paying for — the FUP threshold isn't disclosed. On short trips Holafly is among the most expensive options in this comparison at about $3.93/day.
Nomad
Good for: budget-conscious travelers who want unlimited data at a reasonable price — Nomad's 10-day unlimited at $15 is the lowest ten-day unlimited total in this comparison. Lists AIS, True and dtac. Daily cap is 2 GB at full speed, then throttled to 1 or 2 Mbps depending on the plan until the daily allowance resets. Less ideal for: travelers choosing the smallest fixed plans, where our 1 GB and 3 GB options cost less. Also less ideal for heavy daily users: after the high-speed allowance, messaging and navigation can still work, while streaming and large uploads may be slower.
Saily
Good for: travelers who value security (built by the NordVPN team) and want a polished app experience. Their 5 GB / 30-day plan costs $7.99, ten cents above our $7.89. Less ideal for: travelers who want to know exactly which Thai carrier they're connecting to — Saily doesn't publicly specify. Saily also offers unlimited plans (5d to 30d), but the 5 GB/day high-speed cap makes them poor value compared to Nomad's unlimited or fixed plans of equivalent volume.
Ubigi
Good for: a seven-day trip needing 10 GB: Ubigi costs $9, compared with our $9.99 for 30 days. Its 30-day unlimited plan costs $49 and includes 60 GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps. It lists AIS and TrueMove H, and sends a QR code by email. Less ideal for: travelers who need 10 GB for the full month, where our $9.99 costs $1.01 less than Ubigi’s $11. Subscription prices are outside this one-off price comparison.
Travelsim Asia
Good for: travelers who want the cheapest small plans, no-app setup, and reliable coverage. Travelsim Asia requires no app or account, and we offer the cheapest 1 GB ($1.99), 3 GB ($4.99), 5 GB / 30-day ($7.89), and 10 GB / 30-day ($9.99) plans in this comparison. Our 1–20GB plans include AIS, DTAC and TrueMove H with 5G access. The 50GB / 10-day plan uses True Move on 4G and starts on installation, without top-ups. The 50GB / 180-day plan includes TrueMove H and DTAC with 5G access, starts on its first connection in Thailand and supports top-ups. We also offer a 50 GB / 180-day plan at $54.99 for slow travelers, digital nomads, and repeat visitors — the only 180-day one-off option in this comparison. Less ideal for: travelers who want unlimited data (we don't sell it), or those looking for the absolute lowest price per GB on 20 GB+ plans where Airalo and Nomad lead. We're biased here — this is our product.
Combining Thailand with Singapore or Malaysia? One regional eSIM covers all three countries on a single install. See our Thailand, Singapore and Malaysia eSIM guide. If Malaysia is the bigger half of the trip, our Malaysia buyer's guide covers which networks actually reach Borneo and what the plans cost there.
How much data do you actually need?
Choose your plan around how you use your phone. Here's a quick guide — for a detailed breakdown, read our full Thailand data guide .
Match data to your trip
| Trip type | Daily usage | 7-day data total | 14-day data total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maps, messaging, Grab rides | 200–500 MB | 1.4–3.5 GB | 2.8–7 GB |
| + social media and photo uploads | 800 MB–1.5 GB | 5.6–10.5 GB | 11.2–21 GB |
| + video calls and streaming | 2–4 GB | 14–28 GB | 28–56 GB |
These are total mobile-data estimates, not pack sizes. For the middle row, start with 10 GB for a week or 20 GB for two weeks and top up if you reach the upper end. A 5 GB pack suits lighter use with hotel WiFi for uploads and streaming. At 2–4 GB/day, budget 14–28 GB for a week or 28–56 GB for two weeks. Choose sufficient validity as well as data: our 50 GB / 10-day pack cannot cover a fortnight and cannot be topped up; our other Thailand plans support top-ups.
What about buying a SIM at Bangkok airport?
Thailand's airports — including Suvarnabhumi and Don Mueang — have SIM card kiosks from AIS, TrueMove H, and dtac right in the arrivals hall. They work, and for some travelers they're the right choice. Here's the honest comparison:
Airport SIM card
- Available on arrival, no advance planning
- Can be cheaper for very large data plans
- Includes a Thai phone number
- Requires passport registration
- Queue times can be 15–30+ minutes
- Need to physically swap your SIM
eSIM (any provider)
- Buy online before your trip; check whether your plan starts on installation or arrival
- Activate the moment you land — no queues
- Keep your home SIM active alongside it
- No passport needed, no physical swap
- Usually no Thai phone number included
- Requires an eSIM-compatible phone
The bottom line
For most Thailand travelers — a one or two week trip, maps and social media during the day, hotel WiFi in the evenings — Travelsim Asia is the straightforward choice . Cheapest 1 GB and 3 GB plans, plus 5 GB and 10 GB plans with 30-day validity among the providers compared here. AIS, DTAC and TrueMove H on the 1–20GB plans; True networks on the two 50GB options. No app to download, no account to create, and full-speed data with no throttling. Buy before your flight and install at home for plans that start on arrival. Install the 50GB / 10-day plan when you’re ready to use it: its days start on installation.
A competitor can be the better fit. Ubigi’s 10 GB / seven days costs $9. Airalo’s 20 GB / 30 days costs $18, which is $1.99 less than ours. Nomad’s 50 GB / ten days costs $15 against our $15.99, and its ten-day unlimited plan costs $15 on sale. Ubigi’s $49 / 30-day unlimited plan includes 60 GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps. Choose by the allowance and validity you need.
But for a single Thailand trip with typical usage? No app, no account, cheapest small and mid-tier plans, and dashboard top-ups on all plans except the 50GB / 10-day option. That's Travelsim Asia.
Dig deeper
Need more detail on a specific topic? We've covered the Thailand eSIM decision from every angle:
- Thailand eSIM Prices 2026 — every major provider's plans and prices side by side, with validity windows and hidden trade-offs explained.
- Best eSIM for Thailand — 1 Month Stay — dedicated guide for travelers planning 30-day trips, focused on the best value plans for monthly usage patterns.
- How Much Data Do You Need in Thailand? — daily usage breakdowns by traveler type, WiFi reality, and plan size recommendations.
- Are Unlimited Thailand eSIMs a Scam? — the truth about Fair Usage Policies, what throttled speed actually feels like, and a provider-by-provider breakdown.
- How to Install a Thailand eSIM — step-by-step setup for iPhone and Android, activation at Suvarnabhumi and Don Mueang, and troubleshooting.
- Cheapest Thailand eSIM 2026, the lowest price at every plan size, per gigabyte, and by trip length.
Frequently asked questions
🏆 What is the best eSIM for Thailand in 2026?
It depends on your priorities. If you want the cheapest small or mid-tier plans and no-app setup, Travelsim Asia leads on 1 GB and 3 GB pricing, plus 5 GB and 10 GB with 30-day validity. If you want unlimited data, Nomad's 10-day plan at $15 is the best unlimited value. If you're visiting multiple countries, a regional eSIM helps: Travelsim Asia's Thailand, Singapore and Malaysia pack covers those three, and Airalo's regional plans cover wider Asia routes. There's no single best provider for everyone.
📡 Which Thai networks do eSIM providers use?
Travelsim Asia’s 1–20 GB plans list AIS, DTAC and TrueMove H. Its 50 GB / ten-day pack uses True Move 4G; its 50 GB / 180-day pack lists TrueMove H and DTAC. Nomad lists True, AIS and dtac; Airalo and Ubigi list AIS and TrueMove H. The network list alone does not establish a performance advantage.
⚡ Do all Thailand eSIMs throttle speed?
Fixed-data plans have a set allowance without a daily fair-use reset; actual speed still depends on network conditions. Unlimited plans can reduce speed after a daily or total high-speed allowance. Ubigi’s 30-day unlimited plan includes 60 GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps for the remainder.
✈️ Should I buy an eSIM or a SIM at Bangkok airport?
An eSIM is more convenient for most travelers: buy before your trip and follow your plan’s start instructions, with no airport queue. Most Travelsim Asia plans start on their first connection in Thailand; the 50GB / 10-day option starts on installation. An airport SIM card can be useful if you need a Thai phone number, but it requires queuing, passport registration, and physically swapping your SIM card.
🔄 Can I top up if I run out of data?
With some providers, yes. Travelsim Asia offers web-based top-ups on all Thailand plans except the 50GB / 10-day option; Airalo allows top-ups through their app. Not all providers support mid-trip top-ups — and most unlimited plans don't let you buy extra high-speed data once you're throttled. Always check the top-up process before buying.
📱 Do I need an app?
Travelsim Asia requires no app or account: installation arrives by email and data management is available in a browser. Other providers also offer email QR installation, including Nomad and Ubigi. Purchase, account and management requirements differ by provider.
📊 How much data do I need for Thailand?
At 500 MB to 1.5 GB a day, a week uses 3.5–10.5 GB. A 5 GB plan suits the lighter end; choose more if you expect regular video, uploads or hotspotting. See Read our full data guide →.
💰 How much does a Thailand eSIM cost?
Small fixed plans start at $1.99 for 1 GB / seven days. For 30 days, 5 GB costs $7.89–$8 and 10 GB costs $9.99–$11 among the providers here. A seven-day 10 GB plan costs $9 from Ubigi. Unlimited packages start at $9.50 for three days; compare their high-speed allowances as well as total prices.
Not sure which plan to pick? Our support team can help — available 24/7 via email and live chat.